Dr. Kerstin Hesse
Home Page
Teaching and Teaching Materials
Mathematics Education
Approximation Theory
Publications
Talks, Meetings, Events and Research Visits
Outreach to Schools
Honors, Grants and Peer Review Activities
Administrative Experience
German Version

 

RESEARCH in APPROXIMATION THEORY

I work in approximation theory with a particular focus on multivariate numerical integration and multivariate meshless approximation with radial basis functions.

Currently my research focusses on meshless approximation with radial basis functions on the sphere. Interpolation and approximation with radial basis functions (or more general kernel functions) on manifolds is a highly active research area. Apart from purely approximation theoretical problems, radial basis functions (or more general kernel functions) have found important applications in the context of inverse problems and partial differential equations (in the latter context as an alternative to finite elements) and in machine learning.

  • Smoothing approximation of Functions (on the Sphere) from Noisy Scattered Data with Radial Basis Functions: In "smoothing approximation" (also called "penalised least squares") data is approximated (and not interpolated), and the balance between data fitting and the smoothness of the approximating function is controlled by the so-called smoothing parameter. For noisy data, interpolation cannot successfully be used, and smoothing approximation is the appropriate approximation technique. I am particularly interested in error estimates and strategies for choosing the smoothing parameter for smoothing approximation with radial basis functions or with the "hybrid approximation scheme" (a polynomial part\ plus a radial basis function approximation).

My previous research has covered the following topics:

  • local numerical integration rules for the sphere and their theoretical properties: Rules for numerical integration over local subsets of the sphere are important for applications in which the data is only given on a subset of the earth's surface (which is in first approximation a sphere). My particular interest was focussed on error estimates in special classes of function spaces (e.g. Sobolev spaces).

  • local interpolation with radial basis functions on the sphere: I proved local error estimates for the approximation order in Sobolev spaces.
  • energy of point sets on the sphere: This is more a theoretical research topic, concerned with estimating the Coulomb energy and its generalisations for point sets on the sphere with "good" properties.

  • hyperinterpolation on the sphere: Hyperinterpolation is a kind of discretised orthogonal projection on the space of polynomials of degree less or equal to n.
  • numerical integration on the sphere: In particular, I have derived error estimates for classes of numerical integration rules with "good" properties in a Sobolev space setting. Upper and lower bounds for the error of the same order of convergence guarantee that the error estimates are order optimal.

  • modelling of the earth's gravitational potential from satellite data: This was the topic of my doctoral thesis. Modelling the earth's gravitational potential with high accuracy is still one of geodesy's big challenges. This modelling problem can be formulated as a pseudodifferential operator equation and is an exponentially ill-posed / inverse problem, since the gravitational potential is attenuated with increasing distance from the earth's surface. The research involved regularisation methods, approximation methods based on spherical geometries, as well as numerical methods, in particular domain decomposition techniques.

  • error estimates for the growth behaviour of solutions to the $\overline{\partial}$-equation on Pseudo-Siegel-Domains: This research in analysis of several complex variables was the topic of my Diplomarbeit ("Diplom" Thesis).

Dr. Kerstin Hesse
Home Page
Lehre und Lehrmaterialien
Didaktik der Mathematik
Approximationstheorie
Publikationen
Vorträge, Veranstaltungen und Forschungsaufenthalte
Arbeit mit Schülerinnen und Schülern
Auszeichnungen, Drittmittel, Peer Review Aktivitäten
Akademische Selbstverwaltung
English Version

 

FORSCHUNG in der APPROXIMATIONSTHEORIE

Ich forsche in der Approximationstheorie mit einem besonderen Fokus auf mehrdimensionaler numerischer Integration und mehrdimensionaler gitterloser Approximation mit radialen Basisfunktionen.

Aktuell konzentriert sich meine Forschung auf die gitterlose Approximation mit radialen Basisfunktionen auf der Sphäre. Interpolation und Approximation mit radialen Basisfunktionen (oder allgemeineren Kernfunktionen) auf Mannigfaltigkeiten ist ein hochaktuelles Forschungsthema. Neben rein approximationstheoretischen Problemen haben radiale Basisfunktionen (oder allgemeinere Kernfunktionen) auch bei der Lösung von inversen Problemen und partiellen Differentialgleichungen (in letzterem Kontext auch als Alternative zu finiten Elementen) und im maschinellen Lernen wichtige Anwendungen gefunden.

  • Glättende Approximation von Funktionen (auf der Sphäre) mit radialen Basisfunktionen, basierend auf verrauschten Daten: In "glättender Approximation" (auch "penalised least-squares") werden Messdaten approximiert (und nicht interpoliert), und die Balance zwischen einem guten Fit der Messdaten und der Glattheit der Approximation wird durch den sogenannten Glättungsparameter kontrolliert. Verrauschte Messdaten können nicht erfolgreich interpoliert werden, und glättende Approximation ist die passende Approximationstechnik. Mein besonderes Interesse gilt Fehlerabschätzungen und Strategien zur Wahl des Glättungsparameters für glättende Approximation mit radialen Basisfunktionen oder mit dem "hybriden Approximationsschema" (ein Polynom plus einer radialen Basisfunktionen-Approximantion).

Meine frühere Forschung umfasst die folgenden Themen:

  • Lokale numerische Integrationsformeln für die Sphäre und ihre theoretischen Eigenschaften: Lokale numerische Integrationsformeln für die Sphäre sind für geophysikalische Anwendungen interessant, bei denen die Daten nur auf einem Teilgebiet der Erdoberfläche (in erster Approximation eine Sphäre) gegeben sind. Mein besonderes Interesse galt Fehlerabschätzungen in speziellen Klassen von Funktionenräumen (z.B. Sobolevräumen).

  • Lokale Interpolation mit radialen Basisfunktionen auf der Sphäre: Es wurden lokale Fehlerabschätzungen für die Approximationsgüte in Sobolevräumen hergeleitet.

  • Energie von Punktsystemen auf der Sphäre: Bei diesem eher theoretischen Forschungsthema wurden die Coulombenergie und ihre Verallgemeinerungen für sphärische Punktsysteme mit "`guten"' Eigenschaften abgeschätzt.

  • Hyperinterpolation auf der Sphäre: Bei Hyperinterpolation handelt es sich um eine diskretisierte Orthogonalprojektion auf den Raum der Polynome bis zum Grad n.

  • Numerische Integration auf der Sphäre: Insbesondere bewies ich Fehlerabschätzungen in Sobolevräumen für Klassen von numerischen Integrationsformeln mit "guten" Eigenschaften. Durch obere und untere Schranken derselben Konvergenzordnung ist gewährleistet, dass die Fehlerabschätzungen optimal sind.

  • Modellierung des Gravitationspotentials der Erde aus Satellitendaten: Dies war das Thema meiner Doktorarbeit. Die Modellierung des Gravitationspotentials mit hoher Genauigkeit ist immer noch eine der großen Herausforderungen der Geodäsie. Dieses Modellierungsproblem kann als eine Pseudodifferential-(Operator)-Gleichung formuliert werden und ist ein exponentiell schlecht gestelltes / inverses Problem, da das Gravitationspotential mit zunehmender Entfernung von der Erdoberfläche abgeschwächt wird. Bei dieser Forschung setzte ich Regularisierungsverfahren, Approximationsverfahren basierend auf sphärischen Geometrien, ebenso wie numerische Verfahren, insbesondere Gebietszerlegungsverfahren, ein.

  • Fehlerabschätzungen für das Wachstumsverhalten von Lösungen der $\overline{\partial}$-Gleichung auf Pseudo-Siegelgebieten: Diese Forschung in der Analysis mehrerer komplexer Veränderlicher war das Thema meiner Diplomarbeit.