Dr. Kerstin Hesse
Home Page
Teaching and Teaching Materials
Mathematics Education
Approximation Theory
Publications
Talks, Meetings, Events and Research Visits
Outreach to Schools
Honors, Grants and Peer Review Activities
Administrative Experience
German Version

TEACHING MATERIALS

CURRENT TEACHING (SS 2020)

  • Numerische Analysis, in the module “Modellieren und Anwendungen”, elective course (2 hours per week) for prospective teachers for “Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen” (middle school level) in the 6th semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, SS 2020

  • Mathematik 4 für Maschinenbau (Numerische Methoden), elective course (2 hours per week) for various Master degree programmes in mechanical engineering, Paderborn University, SS 2020

  • Numerische Analysis: small group tutorial, Paderborn University, SS 2020

  • Mathematik 4 für Maschinenbau (Numerische Methoden): small group tutorial, Paderborn University, SS 2020

TEACHING EXPERIENCE

A. LECTURE COURSES for STUDENTS from APPLIED SCIENCES (Service Teaching)

  • Mathematik für Chemiker, compulsory course (4 hours per week) for chemistry students in the 1st semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, WS 2019/20 (79 students), SS 2018 (51 students), WS 2017/18 (70 students), SS 2016 (43 students), WS 2015/16 (92 students), SS 2014 (56 students), WS 2013/14 (92 students) Download the lecture notes for WS 2019/20

  • Höhere Mathematik C für Elektrotechniker, compulsory course (4 hours per week) for students in the degree programmes computer engineering, electrical engineering, physics, business administration and engineering (electrical engineering) in the 3rd semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, WS 2019/20 (126 students), WS 2017/18 (133 students), WS 2015/16 (138 students) Download the lecture notes for WS 2019/120

  • Höhere Mathematik B für Elektrotechniker, compulsory course (4 hours per week) for students in the degree programmes computer engineering, electrical engineering, physics, business administration and engineering (electrical engineering) in the 2nd semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, SS 2019 (168 students), 2017 (174 students), SS 2015 (190 students) Download the lecture notes for SS 2019

  • Höhere Mathematik A für Elektrotechniker, compulsory course (4 hours per week) for students in the degree programmes computer engineering, electrical engineering, physics, business administration and engineering (electrical engineering) in the 1st semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, WS 2018/19 (205 students), WS 2016/17 (204 students), WS 2014/15 (250 students) Download the lecture notes from WS 2018/19

  • Structural Equation Modeling, elective block course (2 days) in the doctoral programme for economics students, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, 2011/12 (10 students). Download the slides and download the solutions to the exercises.

  • Methods of Multivariate Statistics, elective block course (2 days) in the doctoral programme for economics students, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, 2011/12 (11 students). Download the slides and download the solutions to the exercises.

  • Mathematical Methods 1 (for Physicists), compulsory course (3 hours per week) for physics students in the 1st year of the Bachelor, University of Sussex, 2009/10 (43 students), 2008/09 (41 students). Download the lecture notes from 2009/10.

  • Further Mathematical Methods (for Engineers), compulsory course (3 hours per week) for engineering students in the 1st year of the Bachelor, University of Sussex, 2008/09 (81 students).

  • Mathematical Methods 1 (for Engineers), compulsory course (3 hours per week) for engineering students in the 1st year of the Bachelor, University of Sussex, 2007/2008 (60 students). Download the lecture notes from 2009/10. (Note that the lecture notes are from “Mathematical Methods 1 (for Physicists)” which has the same course content.)

B. LECTURE COURSES and SEMINARS for MATHEMATICS / TECHNOMATHEMATICS STUDENTS

  • P2-Vorkurs Mathematik, 4-week preparatory course (12 hours per week) for prospective mathematics / technomathematics students, informatics students und prospective teachers for the “Gymnasium” and “Berufskolleg” (high school level), Paderborn University, September 2014 (119 participants), September 2013 (184 participants)

  • Approximationstheorie, elective course (2 hours per week) for mathematics / technomathematics students (Bachelor and Master), Paderborn University, SS 2013 (5 students)

  • Wavelets and Data Compression, elective course (2,5 hours per week) for 3rd and 4th year mathematics students (Bachelor and Master), University of Sussex, 2010/11 (4 students). Download the lecture notes from 2010/11.

  • Numerical Linear Algebra, elective course (2,5 hours per week) for 3rd and 4th year mathematics students (Bachelor and Master), University of Sussex, 2010/11 (33 students), 2009/10 (21 students). Download the lecture notes from 2010/11.

  • Further Analysis, compulsory course (3 hours per week) for mathematics students in the 2nd year of the Bachelor, University of Sussex, 2010/11 (86 students), 2009/10 (64 students), 2008/2009 (56 students), 2007/08 (74 students). Download the lecture notes from 2010/11.

  • Mathematical Methods for Differential Equations, compulsory corse (1,5 hours per week) for mathematics students and applied sciences students in the 2nd year of the Bachelor, University of New South Wales, 2006 (100 students), 2005 (64 students), 2004 (61 students).

  • Linear Algebra, compulsory course (3 hours per week) for mathematics students in the 2nd year of the Bachelor, Vanderbilt University, 2005/06 (26 students).

  • Introduction to Differential Equations, compulsory course (3 hours per week) for mathematics students in the 2nd year of the Bachelor, Vanderbilt University, 2005/06 (20 students).

C. LECTURE COURSES and SEMINARS for PROSPECTIVE MATHEMATICS TEACHERS

  • Seminar “Mathematik (Master HRSG) - Numerik”, elective seminar (2 hours per week) for prospective teachers for “Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen” (middle school level) in the first year of the Master, Paderborn University, SS 2019 (22 students), SS 2018 (13 students)

  • Einführung in mathematisches Denken und Arbeiten, compulsory curse (2 hours per week) for prospective teachers for “Gymnasium” and “Berufskolleg” (high school level) in the 1st semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, SS 2017 (108 students), WS 2016/17 (157 students) Download the lecture notes for SS 2017

  • Angewandte Statistik in the module “Modellieren und Anwendungen”, elective course (2 hours per week) for prospective teachers for “Haupt-, Real- und Gesamtschulen” (middle school level) in the 6th semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, SS 2016 (135 students), SS 2015 (166 students), SS 2014 (171 students) Download the lecture notes from SS 2016

  • Proseminar “Fourierreihen”, proseminar (2 hours per week) for prospective teachers for “Gymnasium” and “Berufskolleg” (high school level) in the 4th semester of the Bachelor and mathematics students in the 2nd semester of the Bachelor, Paderborn University, SS 2013 (7 students)

D. SMALL GROUP TUTORIAL (= SGT) and LECTURE HALL TUTORIAL (= LHT)

  • Höhere Mathematik C für Elektrotechniker (SGT), Paderborn University, WS 2019/20 (2x), WS 2017/18, WS 2015/16
  • Höhere Mathematik B für Elektrotechniker (SGT and LHT), Paderborn University, SS 2019 (SGT and LHT), SS 2017 (SGT and LHT), SS 2015 (only LHT)
  • Höhere Mathematik A für Elektrotechniker (SGT and LHT), Paderborn University, WS 2018/19, WS 2016/17, WS 2014/15
  • Einführung in mathematisches Denken und Arbeiten (SGT), Paderborn University, WS 2016/17
  • Angewandte Statistik (SGT), Paderborn University, SS 2014
  • P2-Vorkurs Mathematik (SGT), Paderborn University, September 2014, September 2013
  • Mathematik für Chemiker (SGT), Paderborn University, WS 2013/14
  • Approximationstheorie (SGT), Paderborn University, SS 2013
  • Wavelets and Data Compression (SGT), University of Sussex, 2010/2011.
  • Numerical Linear Algebra (SGT), University of Sussex, 2010/2011 and 2009/2010.
  • Mathematical Methods for Differential Equations (SGT), University of New South Wales, 2006, 2005, 2004 and 2003.
  • Several Variable Calculus (SGT), University of New South Wales, 2005, 2004 and 2003.
  • Mathematical Modelling of Satellite Data (SGT), University of Kaiserslautern, SS 2000.
  • Constructive Approximation of the Earth's Interior I (SGT), University of Kaiserslautern, WS 1999/2000.
  • Analysis II (SGT), University of Kaiserslautern, SS 1999.

Dr. Kerstin Hesse
Home Page
Lehre und Lehrmaterialien
Didaktik der Mathematik
Approximationstheorie
Publikationen
Vorträge, Veranstaltungen und Forschungsaufenthalte
Arbeit mit Schülerinnen und Schülern
Auszeichnungen, Drittmittel, Peer Review Aktivitäten
Akademische Selbstverwaltung
English Version

LEHRMATERIALIEN

LEHRVERANSTALTUNGEN im AKTUELLEN SEMESTER (SS 2020)

  • Numerische Analysis, im Modul „Modellieren und Anwendungen“, Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2 SWS) für das Lehramt an Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen im 6. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, SS 2020

  • Mathematik 4 für Maschinenbau (Numerische Methoden), Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2 SWS) für verschiedene Masterstudiengänge des Maschinenbaus, Universität Paderborn, SS 2020

  • Numerische Analysis: Übung, Universität Paderborn, SS 2020

  • Mathematik 4 für Maschinenbau (Numerische Methoden): Übung, Universität Paderborn, SS 2020

GEHALTENE LEHRVERANSTALTUNGEN

A. EIGENSTÄNDIGE LEHRVERANSTALTUNGEN im SERVICEBEREICH

  • Mathematik für Chemiker, Pflichtvorlesung (4 SWS) für Studierende der Chemie im 1. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, WS 2019/20 (79 Studierende), SS 2018 (51 Studierende), WS 2017/18 (70 Studierende), SS 2016 (43 Studierende), WS 2015/16 (92 Studierende), SS 2014 (56 Studierende), WS 2013/14 (92 Studierende) Download des Skripts für WS 2019/20

  • Höhere Mathematik C für Elektrotechniker, Pflichtvorlesung (4 SWS) für Studierende der Studiengänge Computer Engineering, Elektrotechnik, Physik und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Elektrotechnik im 3. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, WS 2019/20 (126 Studierende), WS 2017/18 (133 Studierende), WS 2015/16 (138 Studierende) Download des Skripts für WS 2019/20

  • Höhere Mathematik B für Elektrotechniker, Pflichtvorlesung (4 SWS) für Studierende der Studiengänge Computer Engineering, Elektrotechnik, Physik und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Elektrotechnik im 2. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, SS 2019 (168 Studierende), SS 2017 (174 Studierende), SS 2015 (190 Studierende) Download des Skripts für SS 2019

  • Höhere Mathematik A für Elektrotechniker, Pflichtvorlesung (4 SWS) für Studierende der Studiengänge Computer Engineering, Elektrotechnik, Physik und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen Elektrotechnik im 1. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, WS 2018/19 (205 Studierende), WS 2016/17 (204 Studierende), WS 2014/15 (250 Studierende) Download des Skripts vom WS 2018/19

  • Structural Equation Modeling, Wahlpflicht-Blockveranstaltung (2 Tage) im wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Doktorandenprogramm, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, 2012 (10 Studierende) Download der Folien und Download der Lösungen zu den Übungen

  • Methods of Multivariate Statistics, Wahlpflicht-Blockveranstaltung (2 Tage) im wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Doktorandenprogramm, HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management, 2012 (11 Studierende) Download der Folien und Download der Lösungen zu den Übungen

  • Mathematical Methods 1 (for Physicists), Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Physik im 1. Studienjahr des Bachelors, University of Sussex, 2009/10 (43 Studierende), 2008/09 (41 Studierende) Download des Skripts von 2009/10

  • Further Mathematical Methods (for Engineers), Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Ingenieurwissenschaften im 1. Studienjahr des Bachelors, University of Sussex, 2008/09 (81 Studierende)

  • Mathematical Methods 1 (for Engineers), Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Ingenieurwissenschaften im 1. Studienjahr des Bachelors, University of Sussex, 2007/08 (60 Studierende) Download des Skripts von 2009/10 (Hinweis: Das Skript ist von der Vorlesung „Mathematical Methods 1 (for Physicists)“, die dieselben Inhalte hat.)

B. EIGENSTÄNDIGE LEHRVERANSTALTUNGEN für STUDIERENDE der MATHEMATIK / TECHNOMATHEMATIK

  • P2-Vorkurs Mathematik, 4-wöchiger Vorkurs (12 SWS pro Woche) für Studierende der Mathematik / Technomathematik, der Informatikstudiengänge und des gymnasialen und Berufskolleg-Lehramts, Universität Paderborn, September 2014 (119 Teilnehmer), September 2013 (184 Teilnehmer)

  • Approximationstheorie, Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik / Technomathematik (Bachelor und Master), Universität Paderborn, SS 2013 (5 Studierende)

  • Wavelets and Data Compression, Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2,5 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik im 3. und 4. Studienjahr (Bachelor und Master), University of Sussex, 2010/2011 (4 Studierende) Download des Skripts von 2010/11

  • Numerical Linear Algebra, Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2,5 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik im 3. und 4. Studienjahr (Bachelor und Master), University of Sussex, 2010/11 (33 Studierende), 2009/10 (21 Studierende) Download des Skripts von 2010/11

  • Further Analysis, Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik im 2. Studienjahr des Bachelors, University of Sussex, 2010/11 (86 Studierende), 2009/10 (64 Studierende), 2008/09 (56 Studierende), 2007/08 (74 Studierende) Download des Skripts von 2010/11

  • Mathematical Methods for Differential Equations, Fachvorlesung (1,5 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik und anderer Fachrichtungen im 2. Studienjahr des Bachelors, University of New South Wales, 2006 (100 Studierende), 2005 (64 Studierende), 2004 (61 Studierende)

  • Linear Algebra, Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik im 2. Studienjahr des Bachelors, Vanderbilt University, 2005/06 (26 Studierende)

  • Introduction to Differential Equations, Pflichtvorlesung (3 SWS) für Studierende der Mathematik im 2. Studienjahr des Bachelors, Vanderbilt University, 2005/06 (20 Studierende)

C. EIGENSTÄNDIGE LEHRVERANSTALTUNGEN für LEHRAMTSSTUDIERENDE

  • Seminar „Mathematik (Master HRSG) - Numerik“, Wahlpflichtseminar (2 SWS) für das Lehramt an Haupt-, Real-, Sekundar- und Gesamtschulen im ersten Jahr des Masters, Universität Paderborn, SS 2019 (22 Studierende), SS 2018 (13 Studierende)

  • Einführung in mathematisches Denken und Arbeiten, Pflichtvorlesung (2 SWS) für Studierende des gymnasialen und Berufskolleg-Lehramts im 1. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, SS 2017 (108 Studierende), WS 2016/17 (157 Studierende) Download des Skripts für SS 2017

  • Angewandte Statistik im Modul „Modellieren und Anwendungen“, Wahlpflichtvorlesung (2 SWS) für das Lehramt an Haupt-, Real- und Gesamtschulen im 6. Fachsemester des Bachelors, Universität Paderborn, SS 2016 (135 Studierende), SS 2015 (166 Studierende), SS 2014 (171 Studierende) Download des Skripts vom SS 2016

  • Proseminar „Fourierreihen“, Proseminar (2 SWS) für Studierende des gymnasialen und Berufskolleg-Lehramts im 4. Fachsemester des Bachelors und Studierende des Bachelors in Mathematik im 2. Fachsemester, Universität Paderborn, SS 2013 (7 Studierende)

D. ÜBUNGEN (= Ü) und ZENTRALÜBUNGEN (= ZÜ)

  • Höhere Mathematik C für Elektrotechniker (Ü), Universität Paderborn, WS 2019/20 (2x), WS 2017/18, WS 2015/16
  • Höhere Mathematik B für Elektrotechniker (Ü und ZÜ), Universität Paderborn, SS 2019 (Ü und ZÜ), SS 2017 (Ü und ZÜ), SS 2015 (nur ZÜ)
  • Höhere Mathematik A für Elektrotechniker (Ü und ZÜ), Universität Paderborn, WS 2018/19, WS 2016/17, WS 2014/15
  • Einführung in mathematisches Denken und Arbeiten (Ü), Universität Paderborn, WS 2016/17
  • Angewandte Statistik (Ü), Universität Paderborn, SS 2014
  • P2-Vorkurs Mathematik (Ü), Universität Paderborn, September 2014, September 2013
  • Mathematik für Chemiker (Ü), Universität Paderborn, WS 2013/14
  • Approximationstheorie (Ü), Universität Paderborn, SS 2013
  • Wavelets and Data Compression (Ü), University of Sussex, 2010/2011.
  • Numerical Linear Algebran (Ü), University of Sussex, 2010/2011 und 2009/2010.
  • Mathematical Methods for Differential Equations (Ü), University of New South Wales, 2006, 2005, 2004 und 2003.
  • Several Variable Calculus (Ü), University of New South Wales, 2005, 2004 und 2003.
  • Mathematical Modelling of Satellite Data (Ü), Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, SS 2000.
  • Constructive Approximation of the Earth's Interior I (Ü), Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, WS 1999/2000.
  • Analysis II (Ü), Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, SS 1999.